UNO-R High School writers win 58 awards in the Golden Pen

Sample Image


The University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos high school writers won fifty-eight awards in this year’s Golden Pen Awards held last July 25-26, 2008 at Domingo Lacson National High School Gym, Bacolod City.

Most Promising Writer Cepeda with coach Mrs. Ma. Alon Song
Topping the batch of forty contestants from UNO-Recoletos who won numerous awards in the competition was Sophomore Harry Cepeda who was among the ten recipients of the award for Most Promising Writer.
Cepeda was Champion in News Writing in English for the First and Second Year Bracket with fellow Sophomore Adrianne Janssen Huelar coming in Third.

In the same bracket, Ricci Maranon, also a Sophomore, won Third Place in Editorial Writing in English while fellow Sophomore Diane Valerie Chin placed Second in both Copyreading and News Writing in Filipino.

In the Third and Fourth Year Bracket, Senior Clayton Adam Tenorio placed Second in Editorial Cartooning while UNO-R High School publication editor-in-chief Ma. Josefina Tecson placed Third in Editorial Writing in English.

Other contestants won as runners up in their respective different events. The winners for bracket A were Copyreading in English – Thea Asesor, Karyll Banadera, Adrianne Huelar, Celene Algara, Harry Cepeda and Ma. Trinidad Tecson; Copyreading in Filipino- Kristine Gucio; Sports Writing in English, Norman Baldomar, Thea Asesor and Angelli Guevarra; Sports Writing in Filipino, Diane Chin; Feature Writing in English, Jenny Serfino and Mary Louise Rivera; Feature Writing in Filipino, Diane Chin and Kristine Gucio; Editorial Writing in English, Jakel Jarmonilla, Celene Algara, Thea Asesor, Elvin Flores, Norman Baldomar, Daryl Alvero, Harry Cepeda, Mark DelaTorre and Johnoel Sumalde; Editorial Writing in Filipino, Maxiegene Nonaillada; and Cartooning, Norman Baldomar and Ricci Maranon.

The winners for Bracket B were: News Writing in English, Jeahly Maquilang, Josefina Tecson, Kim Valdez, Mitchell Foster and Sharlaine Alteran; Copyreading in English, Jenno Pellejo, Mitchell Foster and Kim Valdez; Sports Writing in English, Shayne Exito, Jenno Pellejo, Kim Valdez, Philip Ganza, Isabelle Luzuriaga and Kenn Edward Tenorio; Sports Writing in Filipino, Jommie Libres; Feature Writing in English, Ashraf Khater, Shayne Exito, Laurice Dagcutan, Isabelle Luzuriaga and Kenn Tenorio; Editorial Cartooning in Filipino, Clayton Tenorio and Jommie Libres; Editorial Cartooning, Josefina Tecson.

Over-all, UNO-Recoletos placed fifth to this year’s Champion, Domingo Lacson National High School. The Second Place was won by St. Joseph’s School, Third Place by Bacolod City High School and Fourth Place by Bata National High School.

Sample Image
UNO-R High School delegation to the 2008 Golden Pen Awards.

The Golden Pen Awards is part of the Regional Cluster Journalism Writeshop institutionalized by DepEd Region VI-Western Visayas to give students and pupils trainings on Basic Journalism.