The UNO-R Mass Communication Department under the College of Arts and Sciences and ABS-CBN TV 4 held the 4th Province-Wide Newscasting Competition on August 16 at the Event Center of SM Bacolod.

At the program, Fr. Dexter Palagtiosa, OAR, Vice President for Student Welfare, delivered the Words of Welcome while Ms. Leilani Salem-Alba, ABS-CBN Station Manager, gave the Rationale of the Newscasting Competition.  Winners for the College Category were Jelliane Rose Dinorog of CSA-B (Champion), Abigail Marie Tupas of USLS (1st Runner-Up), and Sheena Gemillan of La Carlota City College (2nd Runner-Up).  Sheena Gemillan also won the KBP Award for the college category.

For the High School category, winners were Glenn Matthew Lizares of St. John’s Institute (Champion), Felybelle Marie Gamboa of Kabankalan Catholic College (1st Runner-Up), Kenn Edward Tenorio of UNO-R Bacolod (2nd Runner-Up).  Little Boy Aspero of Colegio San Nicholas Tolentino-Recoletos in Talisay was winner of the KBP Award.

Fr. Dionisio Cachero, OAR, University President, awarded the champions in the college and high school categories while Fr. Dexter Palagtiosa, OAR, Vice President for Student Welfare awarded the 1st  Fr. Cornelio Moral, OAR, Vice President for Religious Affairs, awarded the 2nd Runners-Up.   Arts and Sciences Dean, Dr. Juanita Magan graced the program with her Special Message. Runners-Up.

ABS-CBN news personalities Yasmin Pascual-Dormido (Desk/Senior Reporter), Honey Grace P. Catalan (Host of the Morning Show), and Angelo Angolo (News Chief) were the judges during the competition.  To the Mass Communication Department Head, Mr. Rufus Javier, and faculty, CONGRATULATIONS for a JOB WELL-DONE!