5 magna cum laude lead 62nd Commencement Exercises

Sample Image

Sample Image
click image to enlarge  

Aprille Oponda, Czarina Mae Gidlayan , Mabe Catalogo, Rachel Grace Baylon, and Greg Ryan Gerongano, magna cum laudes, led  Batch 2008 during the 62nd Commencement Exercises of the University last March 24, 2008.

Next in line are the cum laudes: Dexter Dioso, Geraldine Duran, Esther Ruth Francisco, Joy Gampay, Kristilyn Joy Garbanzos, Joselyn Guillen, Faith Nalaza, Jerald Matiban, Emerald Joy Sacare, Cherry Ann Tanaka, Erma Joy Tejada, Ma. Luisa Tuban and Ej Villena.

Oponda, a BS Accountancy graduate, is the recipient of the UNO-R Leadership Award, PACS-B Award, SGV & Co. Award and was the one who delivered the Valedictory Address.


Meanwhile, Gidlayan was the recipient of the Philippine Association of Medical Technologists Award and is also one of the recipients of the UNO-R Loyalty award. Joy Gampay, a BS Accountancy graduate, received the PICPA award.


SGV & Co. gave medals  to Joy Gampay, Kristilyn Joy garbanzos, Jerald matiban, Faith Nalaza, Aprille Oponda and Erma Joy Tejada.


Edison Guitche, a Chemical Engineering graduate, was the recipient of the Philippine Institute of Chemical Engineers – Neg. Occ. Chapter  (PICHE-NOC) award and the College of Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA) award was given to Edward Warren Torres, BS ECE graduate. Seraphin Plotria, A BS Mass Communication graduate was the recipient of the Philippine Information Agency Iwag Award and was awarded the Tolentine Star Journalism Award together with Rejean Gabayoyo and Sheryl Macabebe. The Philippine Association of Management Accountants Award was given to Ileen Toloso.


Diana Jane Alcala, Christine Marie Alcoran, Anthony Dela, Czarina Mae Gidlayan and Edward Warren Torres  were recipients of the UNO-R Loyalty Award.


The University also awarded special recognition to her graduates who have shown exemplary performance in their respective Board examinations. Ildefonso Ortega for being the 1st placer in the Mechanical Engineering Board examinations given last April 2007 and Neil Anthony Gidlayan for being 5th placer in the Medical Technology Licensure Examinations given last September 2007.


Meanwhile, four Recollect Administrators received their degrees. They are Rev. Fr. Demetrio S, Peñascoza, OAR – Doctor of Philosophy, major in Development Management, Rev. Fr. Emilio P. Jaruda, Jr, OAR, San Sebastian College-Recoletos de Cavite – Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Management, Rev. Fr. James Bumangabang, OAR, UNO-R Talisay Principal  and Rev. Fr. Hernan Cañete, OAR- Doctor of Education.



by: Mr. Carlos Legaspi, Jr.