The day opened with the 8 am Baccalaureate Mass at the University Gymnasium. Fr. President presided over the Concelebrated Mass with the members of the Recoletos de Bacolod community. Fr. President in his homily stressed the need for UNO-rians to go above the rest and be proud of UNO-R as an autonomous institution; IQUAME category A(t); and PAASCU Accredited programs.  UNO-R is also proud to produce the first batch of recipients of INTEL Certification.  He also reminded everyone that as Christian – Catholics and as UNO-Rians there is a need to Trust, Believe, Participate and Act based on the will of God.

Meanwhile, Regina Cassiel H. Delito and Evenizer C. Jardinico III of the College of Education led the Batch 2017 graduates of the University of Negros Occidental – Recoletos during the 2017 Commencement Exercises, March 25, 2017.   The two graduated “magna cum laude”.   Jardinico delivered the Valedictory address while Delito gave the message during the awarding and imposition of the hood ceremonies after the Baccalaureate Mass at the Gymnasium.

Graduating “cum laude” are Arvi Ablanque (BSAT);  Mary Jane Ballesteros (BSAT);  Valerie Anne Buenconsejo (BSEd-English); Riza Mae Camacho (BSEd – BioSci); Emarie Carbajosa (BSIT); Kevin Jon Ciano (BSEd- English); Kara Grace Demavivas (BSMT);  Lourd John Diaz (BSMC);  Aaron Dueňas (BS Psychology); Nice Exaltado (BSAT); Gilbert Magbanua (BSCE);  Francis Joan Mendoza (BS Psychology); Michelle Marie Panzo (BS Pharmacy); Jessica Yvon Suyo (BEEd); Isaiah Taguibao (BSIT);and  Jessa Torrendon (BSCrim).  2017 leadership award is given to Lourd John Diaz for his exemplary services to the student body.   While 20 will be conferred with the UNO-R Loyalty Award.  They are  Rock Alejandro; Alan Jan Balibalos;  Kathering Marisse De Juan;  Regina Delito; Peah Angelica Diamante;  Christopher Bernard Dormido;  East Tristan Encabo;  Val Anthony Garay;  Bethel Gavile; Paul Michael Genovate; Ma.  Sheena May Gumban;  Hannah Mae Meguiso; Diane Angelica Mendiola; Anna Maria Teody Mendoza; Fred Jay Parreňo; Camille Joice Villalobos; Amanda Rose Villanueva, Ma. Mellicent Malinao; and Blaire Demonteverde.

“Building Basic Ecclesial Communities in the OAR Year of Holiness” is this year’s theme for the graduation.  Baccalaureate Mass, the imposition of the hood and awarding of non-academic awards was done at 8 am, university gym while the Graduation March to the university amphitheater commenced at 5:00 pm.