Leaders Congress @ Cebu City

More than benchmarking of projects and activities, it was also about building ties through authentic friendship-leadership goal. The annual gathering of Augustinian Student Leaders was conducted to strengthen the seal of brotherhood and sisterhood among Augustinian recollect frontrunners. 14 delegates from the University joined the 5th Augustinian Recollect Student Leaders Congress last October 21-24, 2016. This year, University of San Jose-Recoletos in Cebu City hosted the said congress. Delegates were able to acquire ideas and skills in nurturing their leadership capabilities through leadership talks. An opening salvo was conducted to welcome the participants coming from each participating schools. USJ-R, the host school invited distinguished guests who share individual stories of success and on how they combat difficulties and indifferences. Further, a team building activity was held to toughen the bond of the participants and test each one’s capacity and character. The presentation of each school’s accomplishment report was held on the 3rd day of the congress during the 5th Plenary Session. It was followed by the benchmarking and imparting of leadership and governance systems of different schools. Then, the reading of resolutions and other legislative agenda followed. Hon. Alvin Go Ping, Federation House Speaker, moderated the flow of the readings. Then, resolutions and plans were positively scrutinized by the delegates. Ms. Jane Merjudio-Legislator from San Sebastian College-Recoletos Manila read the resolution appointing UNO-R as the next host school of the said Congress. After Mr. Lourd John Diaz- Federation President proclaimed and approved the resolution, the turn-over of responsibility followed. It was initiated by USJ-R SSC President Ms. Kim Blessy Apolinar giving the gavel as an official symbol of responsibility to UNO-R SSG President Ms. Hennie Marie Berja. After, Federation ExeCom President Mr. Lourd John Diaz introduced the new set of officers of the Federation and facilitated their oath taking. Mr. Alvin Go Ping- UNORSSGO Vice-President and Outgoing Federation House Speaker was elected as new Federation President. Meanwhile, Mr. Ramon Dayatan-UNORSSGO House Speaker was elected as House Pro-Tempore. Part of the Federation was Connie Lou Sorgon who was currently a UNORSSGO Senator. Mr. Go Ping will be succeeding his fellow UNO-Rian Mr. Lourd John Diaz who is the 1st Executive Commission President under 2015 Constitution of the Federation. The closing ceremony was held on the last day followed by the socialization activity. There, UNO-R was awarded as the most punctual and most energetic delegation. The tour happened on the last day of the congress. Delegates got a chance to visit USJ-R Basak Campus and other tourists’ spots in Cebu City. ARSLC happens annually in the month of October. (Lourd John S. Diaz, BS Mass Communication IV)