The Diocese of Bacolod together with the University of Negros Occidental Recoletos launched the 100th Death Anniversary of Fray Mauricio Ferrero, OAR, June 20, 2016 at the San Sebastian Cathedral. A Eucharistic celebration was held at San Sebastian Cathedral with Bishop Emeritus Vicente Navarra, DD, as the main celebrant, concelebrated by some Diocesan and Recoletos priests.

Fr. Ferrero, OAR died on December 8, 1915. He served as the parish Priest of Bacolod in 1871-1894, 1897-1899, 1902-1909. The San Sebastian Cathedral was one of the distinguished structures that Fr. Ferrero built in 1876. The centennial celebration will run from June 20 – December 8, 2016. In his homily, Rev. Fr. Ireneo Gordoncillo acknowledged the works of the Recollect friars in the island, especially Fr. Mauricio in constructing the San Sebastian Cathedral. Fr. Gordoncillo also cited that June 20 is a significant day for the recollects for it is the day when the Order accepted Negros as their mission territory in 1848.

Before the final blessing, Bishop Navarra thanked the Order of Augustinian Recollects for their collaboration and asked everyone to include Fr. Ferrero in their prayers. Then, Rev. Fr. William C. Villaflor, OAR, Prior of Recoletos de Bacolod in return thank the Diocese for recognizing the works of his fellow OAR priests.

Dr. Dennis Madrigal, UNO-R Religious Education Department Head, gave a brief explanation of the picture that was unveiled. According to Dr. Madrigal, the picture was used by Fr. Ferrero in his passport as he went back to the United States of America. The Bishop with all of the concelebrating priests unveiled the portrait of Pdre Mauricio Ferrero, OAR.

Before the Mass, Dr. Emmanuel Luis A. Romanillos shared his knowledge about the success of Fr. Ferrero’s journey as a recollect friar in the island.

The exhibit of Fray Mauricio Ferrero was opened at Museo Diocesano de Bacolod. The ribbon cutting was initiated by Bishop Emeritus Navarra; Monsignor Felix Pasquin, Rector of the Cathedral; Fr. Jose Ernil Almayo, OAR, Provincial Secretary; Fr. Villaflor, OAR; Rev. Fr. Eduardo S. Celiz, Jr., OAR, UNO-R President; and Mr. Modesto Sa-onoy. The Fr. Ferrero Centennial Organizing committee is headed by Fr. Segundo Chua, co chaired by Fr. Abraham Latoza, OAR, Fr. Gordoncillo; Prof. Modesto Sa-onoy; Mrs. Sandy Solinap; Dr. Dennis Madrigal; Dr. Annabee Magbanua; Dr. Carlos Eduardo Legaspi, Jr. (Lourd John, BSMC 4, PR volunteer)


(In photo are: Fr. Brethen Gamala; Fr. Villaflor, OAR; Msgr.Pasquin; Bishop Emeritus Navarra; Fr. Almayo, OAR; Fr. Celiz, OAR; Fr. Latoza, OAR; Fr. Deo Camon; Fr. louie Gabinete, OAR; Fr. Antonio Limchaypo, OAR; and Fr. Persiuz Joseph Decena , OAR)