UNO-R joined the Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) in different venues in Bacolod City last November 14-17, 217. UNO-R was named overall champion in TV Newscasting Competition held at Sum-ag Elementary School, Nov. 15-17. Chevy Cantua was Regional Schools Press Conference Qualifier for Radio TV Broadcasting while Riva Jean Caburog and Ariane Dolino were also named RSPC qualifiers for TV Newscasting in Filipino. Other winners were Edgar Philip de Asis –Best Male Anchor (Filipino); Erika Mae Albay – Best Female Anchor (Filipino); Ervin Jeremiah Mesa – Best in Technical Application (Filipino); Steven Kent Quizon – Best Male Anchor (English); Sophia Luz Alfiscar – Best Female Anchor (English) and Jose Enrique Guimbal – Best in Technical Application (English). The coaches are Mr. Joseph Karl Tatlonghari –English; Ms. Methozela Iligan –Filipino ; and Mr. Lourd John Diaz – Radio Broadcasting. While the other group competed in DSPC art R.E. Medel Elementary School in Tangub, Nov. 14, 2017. From Starlight, the winners were ANNA MARIE JUESNA- 3RD PLACE –News Writing (English); JUNLENE BLESS ESPISO- 3RD PLACE –Copy Reading and Headline Writing (English);KENT FRANCIS DALISAY- 1ST PLACE – Copy Reading and Headline Writing (Filipino); WINDSOR LINUS SUMBILLO- 1ST PLACE-Editorial Cartooning (English); KHEZIA PAULA DUMALA-OS -2ND PLACE-Editorial Cartooning (Filipino); MARIELLE MAKILAN- 5TH PLACE – Editorial Writing (English); CHARLES GABRIEL GELOTIN-5TH PLACE-Editorial Writing (Filipino); JOSHUA STEVEN CALVO- 7TH PLACE –SciTech Writing (English); JANE MARIE SARMIENTO- 7TH PLACE – Feature Writing (Filipino); DANELL JUMAYAO- 4TH PLACE- Sports Writing (Filipino). Their advisers are: Venus Blancia (English) and John Carlo Tomesa –Coach-Filipino. The Blue Torch also competed in Division Schools Press Conference DSPC 2017,R.E. Medel Elementary School, Tangub, Bacolod City, November 13, 2017. The winners were JERI MAE TERRY- 6TH PLACE – News Writing (FILIPINO); JED PAUL SARCEPUEDES- 9TH PLACE – Copy Reading and Headline Writing (English); PHOEBE JOY LAGANSOA-1ST PLACE –Copy Reading and Headline Writing (FILIPINO); KLOEY APONDAR- 1ST PLACE – Editorial Cartooning (English); PAOLA GABRIDO-4TH PLACE – Editorial Cartooning (FILIPINO); ELNIE FLORES- 5TH PLACE –Editorial Writing(Filipino); JAZMINE TRAFIERO-4TH PLACE – Feature Writing (English); MAVIC DAPRINAL- 6TH PLACE – Photojournalism (English). Their Adviser & Coach are Venus Blancia and Marisa Petalla.

In the Regional Schools Press Conference RSPC held in Iloilo National High School, Iloilo City,December 2-3, 2017. UNO-R winners were ANNA MARIE JUESNA- 4th PLACE News Writing (English); MARIELLE MAKILAN- 4TH PLACE –Editorial Writing (English); JUNLENE BLESS ESPISO- 10th PLACE-Copy Reading and Headline Writing (English); Adviser: Ms. Venus Blancia. For the Broadcasting in Filipino category, 3rd place in DevCom (Infomercial); 2nd place in News Scripting; 2nd place in Technical Application; 2nd place in TV Production (Filipino) – Secondary level; and Ervin Jeremiah Quizon – 4th place , Most promising Video Journalist in TV Broadcasting (Filipino). In the English category, 2nd place in DevCom; 6th place in News Scripting; Technical Application; Tv Production and Steven Kent Quizon got 8th place as Most Promising Video Journalist in English. (Data from Integrated School)